Home About Us Buildings Gardens Collections Research/Archives Plan a Visit Get Involved News/Events

Home > Buildings > Hendrick Cottage

Hendrick Cottage, ca. 1795 - Simsbury

 

cottageThe exact age of this charming, gambrel-roofed house has not been determined, but it undoubtedly dates from the 1790s or earlier.  Property records indicate that Reverend Timothy Woodbridge acquired the land where the house was later built as early as 1721.  By 1795, the property had passed to John Poisson, who contracted Calvin Barber to build a chimney and stone foundation for his “Dwelling House.”  It is possible that an earlier building was being modified, but it is more likely that “Hendrick Cottage” dates from 1795. 

The property was acquired by Thomas Belden in 1813.  His son Horace Belden settled into the house soon after his marriage to Rachel Selina Fowler in 1830.  The house remained in the Belden family until 1958 and is named for Fanny Josephine Pomeroy Hendrick the last family member to occupy the building. 

Originally located at what is now 25 West Street, Simsbury, Hendrick Cottage was acquired by the Simsbury Historical Society and moved to its present location in 1965.

 

 

 

 

 
Simsbury Historical Society
800 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070
860-658-2500
info@simsburyhistory.org