Home About Us Buildings Gardens Collections Research/Archives Plan a Visit Get Involved News/Events

Home > Buildings >Probate Building

Probate Building, 1876 - Simsbury

 

Probate courts hear matters dealing with estates, adoptions, guardianships and name changes.  The probate district of Simsbury was established by the General Assembly in May of 1769.  The first appointed probate judge of Simsbury was John Owen who served until his death in 1783.  Julius Chapman was the first elected probate judge; he served from 1851 until 1855.       

This slate-roofed brick building was constructed in 1876 with support from Jeffrey O. Phelps II (1820-1899), a former probate judge.  Its primary function was to serve as a vault to safely store probate and town records.  The building cost $1,600.00 to build and $33.00 to furnish.  Originally located at 7 Wilcox Street, it is a typical and charming Victorian pattern book design.  It served Simsbury until 1939 when the probate court was moved to Eno Memorial Hall.  Since 2009, the building has served as the headquarters for the Simsbury Land Trust. 

The Probate building was acquired by the Simsbury Historical Societyin 1970 and moved to its present location in 1998.

 

 

 

 

 
Simsbury Historical Society
800 Hopmeadow Street
Simsbury, CT 06070
860-658-2500
info@simsburyhistory.org